Africa’s Trio Complete 16-Team 2024 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup Party

Written by Oluwaseun Oyediji

The three remaining teams for the 2024 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup were determined as the African qualifiers for the tournament concluded last weekend to complete the 16 teams heading to the Dominican Republic in October.

More Details

Nigeria, Zambia, and Kenya will represent Africa at the competition after winning the fourth and final qualification games on aggregate.

Nigeria’s Flamingos recorded a 6-1 aggregate victory against Liberia after a 2-0 win in the return leg in Abuja last Friday. They won the first leg 4-2 in Monrovia.

Goals from Marion Serenge and Valerie Nekesa lifted Kenya to a 2-0 win which sealed a 5-0 aggregate success over Burundi to qualify for the World Cup.

Kenya started the game brightly and almost took the lead in the opening 30 seconds after dominating the proceedings they opened the scoring when Marion Serenge took advantage of a thrown ball, a miscommunication in Burundi’s defence, showing great alertness Serenge slotted the ball into an empty net to open the scoring for Kenya.

Paris 2024: Team Canada’s Olympic Controversy Explained

VAR And Pitch Invasion Takes Centre Stage As Morocco Defeats Argentina At The Olympics Despite A Late Equalizer

Paris 2024: Emma Hayes Dismisses Favourite Tag For USWNT Ahead Of Olympics

Javier Tebas’ Feud With Florentino Perez Concerning CVC Capital Partners Deal Far From Over

A great finish from the grande talent of Kenya Valerie Nekesa gave the keeper no chance to extend the lead to 2-0. Kenya continues to dominate proceedings in the second half with near misses and had to settle for the 2-0, 5-0 aggregate scoreline with great celebrations from a joyous great attendance.

For Zambia, they forced Morocco to a 0-0 draw in the return leg, confirming their place at the World Cup with a 3-1 win on aggregate.

The 2024 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup is billed for October 16 to November 3 in Dominican Republic. In 2022, Spain won the title over Colombia while Nigeria took the bronze medal against Germany.

This will be the first time that the Dominican Republic has hosted a FIFA tournament.


Host, Dominican Republic, the United States of America (USA), and Mexico have also qualified for the 2024 FIFA Women's U-17 Women's World Cup as North America (Concacaf) representatives while Brazil, Colombia, and Ecuador will fly the flag of South America (Conmebol).

Read Also - Saudi Arabia Gradually Becoming The New Mecca Of Women’s Football

For Asia (AFC), Japan, Peoples' Republic of Korea (DPR Korea), and Korea Republic will represent the continent as holders Spain, England, and Poland are Europe flag bearers.

New Zealand will be at the tournament as Oceania's sole representatives.

The 16 participating teams will be divided into four groups of four. The top two teams in each group qualify for the quarter finals. This will be followed by semi-finals, a match for third place and the final.

Kindly Email: keepup@bettitude.com

You can also follow us on FacebookInstagramTwitter and YouTube

Bookmark (0)

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Be in the Know! Subscribe To BettiSports Daily Newsletter