Two NWSL Clubs Faceoff In Inaugural Concacaf Women’s Champions Cup Group Stage

Writen by Oluwaseun Oyediji

Two teams from the United States of America (USA) National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL), San Diego Wave and Portland Thorns will face off in the group stage of the maiden Concacaf Women’s Champions Cup as the draw for the region’s club competition for the 2024/2025 season was held on Thursday.

More Details

Ahead of the draw, ten clubs were pitted into pots as Alianza will meet Vancouver in the Preliminary Round from August 13 to 15, 2024.

Gotham FC and San Diego Waves in pot two, Portland Thorns and UANL Tigres in pot three, Rayadas (Monterrey) and Club America in pot four, Alajuelense and Santa Fe FC in pot five while Frazsiers Whip and the winner of the Preliminary round between Alianza and Vancouver were placed in pot six.

During Thursday’s draw, the 10 clubs participating in the competition’s group stage, all of which have qualified via their domestic league were split into two groups of five clubs each and will play as follows:

Group A
NJ/NY Gotham FC
Tigres Femenil
CF Monterrey Femenil
LD Alajuelense
Frazsiers Whip Football Limited

UEFA Euro 2024: England And Denmark Qualify For Knockout Stage After Stalemate Games

COPA AMERICA 2024: Venezuela Vs Mexico Match Preview

COPA AMERICA 2024: Ecuador Vs Jamaica Match Preview

UEFA Euro 2024: Gareth Southgate Admits Huge Competition Ahead of Final Group Game

Group B
San Diego Wave FC
Portland Thorns FC
Club America Femenil

Santa Fe FC

It was determined that Alianza Women FC will host the Preliminary Round single-leg match versus Vancouver Whitecaps FC.


The Concacaf Women's Champions Cup includes a Preliminary Round, followed by group and direct elimination play. The Preliminary Round will be a single-leg match between two clubs, with the winner advancing to the Group Stage.

Preliminary Round: August 13-15, 2024

Read Also - Sundowns Champions League Triumph: Another Historic Win For South Africa In Women’s Football

The Group Stage will feature 10 clubs divided into two groups of five clubs each. Each club will play every club in its group once, for a total of four matches per club (two at home and two away). After Group Stage play, the group winners and runners-up (four clubs in total) will progress to the competition’s Finals.

Group Stage Week 1: August 20-22, 2024
Group Stage Week 2: September 3-5, 2024
Group Stage Week 3: September 17-19, 2024
Group Stage Week 4: October 1-3, 2024
Group Stage Week 5: October 15-17, 2024

The Semifinals (1A vs 2B and 1B vs 2A), Third Place Match, and Final, where the first-ever Concacaf Women's Champions Cup champion will be crowned, will be centralized in a venue to be announced.

Finals (Semifinals, 3rd Place match, and Final): May 22-25, 2025.

Kindly Email: keepup@bettitude.com

You can also follow us on FacebookInstagramTwitter and YouTube

Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease login

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Be in the Know! Subscribe To BettiSports Daily Newsletter