UEFA Edit Women’s Champions League Format And Set To Introduce Second Club Tournament

BUDAPEST, HUNGARY - MAY 18: (l-r) Ada Hegerberg of Olympique Lyonnais controls the ball next to Mariona Caldentey of FC Barcelona during the UEFA Women's Champions League Final match between Olympique Lyonnais and FC Barcelona at Ferencvaros Stadium on May 18, 2019 in Budapest, Hungary. (Photo by Laszlo Szirtesi/Getty Images)

Written by Oluwaseun Oyediji

After clamour from enthusiasts to change the phase of the UEFA Women’s Champions League format, the Executives of football governing body in Europe have taken decisions to this effect.

More Details

The UEFA Executive Committee approved a new format for the UEFA Women’s Champions League.

The new form will consist of an 18-team league phase with three home and three away matches followed by knockout rounds.

The UEFA Executives also approved the creation of a second European competition for women’s clubs, with the changes becoming effective as of the 2025/2026 season.

Copa America 2024: Peru Vs Chile Match Preview

Euro 2024 Group E: Slovakia Vs Ukraine

NWSL Players’ Association To The Rescue On Sophia Smith’s Additional Suspension

With The Growing Interest In Two Of Their Midfielders, Juventus Looking At Options In The Transfer Market

Full details on the competitions' format, access list and calendar will be announced in a separate communication on 4 December.

The current format of the UEFA Women's Champions League sees clubs play in the League and Champions path qualifiers with 12 teams joining league winners from France, Spain, Germany, and England in the 16-team group stage.

The current format has been subject to criticism after some top teams like Arsenal FC women and last season's runners up, Wolfsburg failed to qualify for the group stage this season.


The match schedule and 2025 UEFA Women's Euro dates were also approved, with eight venues across Switzerland (Basel, Bern, Geneva, Luzern, Sion, St. Gallen, Thun and Zurich), hosting matches from 2 to 27 July 2025.

Read Also - Sundowns Champions League Triumph: Another Historic Win For South Africa In Women’s Football

The opening match and the final will be played at St. Jakob-Park in Basel.

Following the launch of the inaugural FIFA Futsal Women's World Cup in 2025, it was decided to cancel the 2024/2025 edition of the UEFA European Women's Futsal Championship and implement a four-year cycle instead, with the next final tournament in 2027.

The number of teams participating to the final tournament will furthermore be increased from four to eight.

Kindly Email: keepup@bettitude.com

You can also follow us on FacebookInstagramTwitter and YouTube

Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease login

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Be in the Know! Subscribe To BettiSports Daily Newsletter