US Soccer Celebrates 25th Anniversary Of USWNT Second World Title

Written by Oluwaseun Oyediji

The United States Soccer (US Soccer) marked 25 years since the United States Women’s National Team (USWNT) won their second FIFA Women’s World Cup title.

More Details

They had won the maiden Women’s World Cup in 1991 before Norway clinched the second World Cup in Sweden (1995).

Twenty-five years ago today (July 10, 1999), in front of a record-setting crowd of 90,185 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif. the U.S. Women’s National Team defeated China Peoples’ Republic 5-4 on penalty kicks to win the 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Scoreless through regulation and extra time – thanks to a heroic goal line header by Kristine Lilly – the USA prevailed in penalty kicks to win its second star.

Briana Scurry saved China’s third Penalty kick attempt and all five Americans converted their penalty kicks, with Brandi Chastain sealing the victory on the fifth and final attempt.

The record World Cup Champions topped their group with victories over Denmark (3-0), Nigeria (7-1), and Korea PR (3-0).

In the quarter-final, USWNT edged Germany 3-2 before seeing off the winner of the third-placed match, Brazil 2-0 in the semi-final.

Read Also Saudi Arabia Gradually Becoming The New Mecca Of Women’s Football

Despite winning the title, China smiled home with the top goal scorer award as Sun Wen and Brazil’s Sissi shared the gong with seven goals each.

Sun Wen also won the Best Players award while China clinched the Fair Play Award.

It was the beginning of a dominant women’s national team which went on to become the most successful at the World Cup and Olympics combined.

Do you have story tips?

Kindly Email: keepup@bettitude.com

You can also follow us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube

Bookmark (0)

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Be in the Know! Subscribe To BettiSports Daily Newsletter